PISTOL PERMIT OFFICE WILL BE
CLOSED JULY 4, 2016 THORUGH JULY 18,
NYS Firearms License Request for Public Records Exemption
PISTOL PERMIT INSTRUCTION GUIDE
For more information on pistol permits, visit the Pistol Permit Bureau at the New York State Police website, or follow this link to New York Gun Laws. Follow this link for information on the National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS).
REMEMBER TO PRACTICE GUN SAFETY!!
APPLICATIONS: available at the Otsego County Sheriff’s Office or on-line.
REQUIREMENTS: applicant must be 21 years of age, a resident of New York State; or if you are a business owner, your principal place of business must be in New York State to apply for a permit. In either case, you apply to the county in which you live or have your principal place of business.
FEE: a money order made payable to OTSEGO COUNTY SHERIFF for $99.75 Amendments are $3.00 per transaction.
HANDGUN SAFETY COURSE: must be completed by the Sheriff’s Office within six months of issuance.
PURPOSE: application requires the use: sporting, business or full carry.
FINGER PRINTING: for your pistol permit takes place at the Otsego County Sheriff’s Office (located at 172 Cty Hwy 33W Cooperstown, NY) Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday from 9:00am to 4:00pm.
PHOTOS: one (1) passport type photos must be submitted with the application.
PROCESSING TIME: the application for a pistol permit takes approximately two (2) to four (4) months.
EXPIRATION: No expiration date on NYS pistol permits in Otsego County.
TYPES OF PERMITS
Premises: A permit issued for the protection of the business or residence premises. The use of the loaded pistol for protection is restricted to the INSIDE of the specified address on the permit.
Carry: This permit allows you to possess and carry concealed, without regard to employment or place of possession, by any person when proper cause exists for the issuance thereof. (P.L. 400-2-F) All Permits are issued "Good Until Revoked."
Should you change the address listed on your permit you must come to the Pistol Permit Bureau no later than ten days after the change becomes effective. If you move to a different County within NY State, you may make arrangements to have your Pistol Permit records transferred by contacting the Otsego County Sheriff's Office.
LOST OR MUTILATED PERMIT
If your permit becomes mutilated or lost you must notify the Pistol Permit Bureau and complete a request for a duplicate permit form.
BUYING A HANDGUN
Generally, most individuals have a bill of sale from a dealer or individual and present it at the time they pick up their coupon. The coupon must then be given to the dealer in order to take possession of the weapon. The purchase of a handgun can only be from a valid permit holder, a firearms dealer or a police or peace officer. The bill of sale must include the make, model, caliber, type and serial number.
PURCHASING AN ADDITIONAL WEAPON
Additional handguns may be purchased and registered on your permit by completing a permit amendment (in duplicate). The forms are available at the Pistol Permit Bureau. The bill of sale must include the make, model, serial number, type and caliber of the gun being acquired, and name, address, and permit number of both buyer and seller.
SELLING A HANDGUN
If you wish to sell a handgun which is registered on your permit, you must provide the buyer with a dated bill of sale. The bill of sale must have your name, address, phone number and pistol permit number. It must also include the make, model, type, caliber and serial number of the handguns being sold, given, transferred, or co-registered. It must include buyers name, address and permit number. You are also required to notify the Pistol Permit Bureau that you are no longer in possession of the weapon(s).
AMNESTY LAW (P.L. 265.20-F)
When a Pistol Permit holder is deceased, the Executor or Administrator of the Estate must dispose of the handgun(s) within 15 days to a Dealer, a valid Pistol Permit holder or any Police Department or Sheriff 's Office.
Any person who voluntarily surrenders to any Police or Sheriff's Department (under their terms) an unregistered handgun, is granted amnesty from prosecution for unlawful possession. You should call the Police or Sheriff 's Office before bringing in any weapons.
If you have changed your name because of marriage or for other legal reasons you must provide the Pistol Permit Bureau with a Marriage Certificate or Legal Court Documents verifying the change.
A prompt report must be made to the Pistol Permit Bureau under the following circumstances:
A. Loss of Firearm
B. Loss of Mutilation of Pistol Permit
C. Change of Business or Residence Address
D. Arrest, Indictment or Conviction in any jurisdiction
E. Intent to dispose of firearm(s)
- Permit holder must be in possession of permit at all times while carrying firearms.
To assure maximum safety, proper safeguards must be taken at all times to keep firearms away from unauthorized persons, ESPECIALLY CHILDREN.
- Firearms should not be left in the glove compartment or trunk of autos, or any place where unauthorized persons may readily have access to them.
- A permit holder shall not take physical possession of a handgun prior to obtaining a purchase coupon from the Sheriff's Office.
- Any violation of the criminal law as well as excessive use of alcohol, violent domestic fraction or abuse, erratic behavior, drug abuse or abuse of driving privileges or the failure to exercise reasonable safety precautions with respect to your firearms, may result in the suspension or revocation of your Pistol Permit.
- A Pistol Permit holder is authorized to use ONLY the firearm(s) that are registered on their permit.
Upon demand, a Pistol Permit holder must show their permit to any Police or Peace officer acting in an official capacity.
- You are not to laminate nor alter your permit in any way.
Your Pistol Permit is valid in all of New York State only. However, it is NOT valid in the City of New York and in other states.